Life Lessons from Bowl of Mash

If I were doing the detox by myself, writing a blog would be pretty boring—I ate blank; I liked this; I hated that; this one was okay. Yada yada yada.  Same old stuff.  But fortunately I’m doing it with my family.  This is good for two reasons.  One, they provide motivation and accountability to keep going (halfway done by the way!).  Two, they make it a whole lot more entertaining.

I will treasure the moments cleaning the kitchen with my mom and dad (we use so many dishes for this) laughing about how sick we are of quinoa (it feels like we’ve eaten it for every meal).  Seriously, try eating this bland grain every day for five days and then see how keen you are about it.  Anyway, during our dishwashing, my dad points out that these days have felt long.  And not because the food is bad—some of it is actually really good—but because every meal is a big deal.

And he’s right.  We’re supposed to eat five times a day.  Breakfast, lunch, dinner, and two snacks.  A lot goes into preparing them.  My mom has spent so much time in the kitchen these past few days, trying new recipes and becoming familiar with new ingredients.  And since we haven’t repeated many of recipes, most are new and interesting.  Sure we’ve had quinoa each day, but it’s been cooked in different ways, and each one we’re a little uncertain about at first.  And so we discuss them all.  How we liked this one, what could be better about that one, should we make this again, etc.

Usually my family members will eat their eggs or cereal for breakfast; I’ll have my yogurt and leftovers; we’ll fix our own lunches, and then we’ll come home to a delicious meal that my mom has made, but probably one that we’ve had several times over the course of our lives.  Nothing really “noteworthy.” 

The detox has made food a clear focal point in our lives these past five days.  And it’s slowed time down.  Maybe it’s because we’re hungry and anticipating the next time that we eat, or it could be the amount of work that it takes to actually eat.  Nonetheless, we’re thinking a lot more than usual about a daily ritual.

How many times do we go through our days always anticipating the next big thing?  What if we took the time to appreciate the simple things, too, such as eating.  We do so many things mindlessly that we blink and suddenly a week has passed.  I’m so guilty of ignoring the little things, but I’m going to try to live more in the moment, especially in the smaller ones.  And if we added them all up, they probably outnumber the big moments, but we pass over them so easily.

So let’s treasure this life.  It’s the only one we’ve got, and it will be over before we know it.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

